Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Books in the Gustavus Library
To find primary source materials available in the Gustavus library, go to the Advanced Search in the library catalog. In one of the search boxes, enter the word "source" and set the field to "Subject." Then, enter keywords related to your topic in another box. This search will bring back primary source materials that are in edited volumes.
Primary Source Materials on the Web
Many primary sources are available online; use these links to discover the variety of information available to you.
Gustavus Adolphus College & Lutheran Church Archives
The College Archives consists of campus records, manuscript collections, student theses, college newspapers, yearbooks, and photographs are just some of the unique resources found in this collection. Many of the campus newspapers and photographs are digitized and available via the archives website. The Lutheran Church Archives houses records of largely Swedish-American church bodies in Minnesota, including photographs, congregational histories, biographical information and microfilmed church records.
• Location(s): Library, 3rd floor
America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations--Vietnam Veterans Against the War
This collection consists of FBI reports dealing with various aspects of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations. Covers 1967-1975.
American Indian Movement and Native American Radicalism
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
Ancient and Medieval History Online
Ancient and Medieval History covers history to the mid-1500s, with special "topic centers" on key eras, civilizations, and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. History is presented through videos, slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs, timelines, suggested readings, and suggested search terms.
Black Freedom Struggle in the United States: A Selection of Primary Soures
A curated selection of primary sources on African American history and movements against racial injustice. Sources include legislation, legal cases, and documents about leaders and organizations. The collection is organized into six areas: Slavery and the Abolitionist Movement (1790-1860); The Civil War and the Reconstruction Era (1861-1877); Jim Crow Era from 1878 to the Great Depression (1878-1932); The New Deal and World War II (1933-1945); The Civil Rights and Black Power Movements (1946-1975); The Contemporary Era (1976-2000)
Black Life in America: The Experience and Impact of African Americans as Recorded by the News Media (1976-current)
This primary source collection covers African American history and experience as recorded by the news media. Sources include a variety of American and global news sources, including current and historical Black publications. NOTE: The library subscribes to Series 3 (1976-current).
Britannica Original Sources
A compilation of primary source documents, books, and images. Search by author, topic, or event.
Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984 Digital Archive
This collection of FBI files provides source materials for major social movements and key figures in early twentieth century black history and it provides a window into the development of America’s first systematic domestic surveillance programs.
Japanese-American Relocation Camp Newspapers: Perspectives on Day-to-Day Life Digital Archive
This digital collection of Japanese relocation camp newspapers records the concerns and the day-to-day life of the Japanese-Americans interned during World War II.
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents the work of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB). They also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement. Covers 1955-1984.
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, the San Francisco Human Rights Commission, and the National Organization for Women. Covers 1966-1984.
Sabin Americana, 1500-1926
Makes available online works captured from Joseph Sabin's bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time. Contains information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. Offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition. Provides access to 33,000 titles, with over 8 million pages of text.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Part 1 : Debates over Slavery and Abolition
Includes collections from the United States and Europe on the worldwide movement for the abolition of slavery in the eighteenth and nineteenth century. Contains 1.5 million cross-searchable pages, including over 7,000 books, 79 serials, 16 manuscript collections and 377 Supreme Court records and briefs.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law
The collection covers state and federal statutes, judicial cases, and pamphlets and books about slavery.
A search platform for over 400,000 digitized documents, images, recordings, and film related to African American history and culture drawn from the collections of the University of Minnesota as well as digitized materials from over 1000 libraries and archives across the country.
Overview of Primary Sources
There is no particular area in the library, aside from the archives, where you will find primary sources shelved. You need to use creativity and insight to think about where to find primary sources for your research. Diaries, memoirs, and letters are possibilities; so are popular press accounts of events and official documents. The items listed below are a sampling of resources that may prove helpful in historical research. Look, too, for collections of documents published as anthologies or for important historical texts from the web sources listed below.
If you need help, please don't hesitate to ask a librarian!
, Environmental Studies
, Gustavus History
, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies
, Special Collections and Rare Books
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License