Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ancient and Medieval History Online
Ancient and Medieval History Online
Ancient and Medieval History covers history to the mid-1500s, with special "topic centers" on key eras, civilizations, and regions, including the ancient Near East, Egypt, Greece, and Rome; ancient and medieval Africa, Asia, and the Americas; and medieval Europe and the Islamic World. History is presented through videos, slideshows, primary sources, maps and graphs, timelines, suggested readings, and suggested search terms.
General and World History
- Civilizations of the Ancient Mediterranean
3 vols. Lengthy articles on such topics as "Language and Dialects," "Farming and Animal Husbandry," "Myths and Cosmologies," "Women in Rome," and "Roman Building Techniques" introduce the reader in some depth to many facets of the classical world. Each article is followed by a helpful bibliography.
[Resource no longer available]
- Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
New York: Scribner's 2000
Essays on the culture and history of Egypt, Syro-Palestine, Mesopotamia, and Anatolia. Includes some coverage of the Arabian peninsula, northeast Africa, and Aegean and Anatolian cultures. Provides excellent background papers on culture and society, with extensive bibliographies.
• Location(s): Ref DS57 C.547 2000
- Colonialism: An International Social, Cultural, and Political Encyclopedia
Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio 2003
3 vols. An interdisciplinary approach to "cultural concepts and intellectual ideas crucial to an understanding of colonialism in the modern world." Covers key geographical and cultural concepts, as well as significant individuals, movements, and events. A number of primary source documents are included in the third volume.
• Location(s): Ref JV 22 .C65 2003
- Companion Encyclopedia of the History of Medicine
A trove of information and insights into the history of the field. Includes essays on body systems and how they have been perceived through time, theories of illness, including history of specific diseases and their treatments, geographical essays, clinical history, and medicine in society and culture.
• Location(s): Ref R 133 .C66 1993
- Dictionary of Historical Terms
New York: Peter Bendrick 1990 2nd Ed. edition
Covers a wide variety of terms--events, places, institutions, and topics--in history for all periods and places in a remarkably small package. A good place to quickly identify terms in the field.
• Location(s): Ref D9 .C67 1990
- Dictionary of British History
New York: Oxford University Press 2001
A compact companion to British history from 55 BC to the present, offering 3,600 entries contributed by over 100 scholars. Good for quick information.
• Location(s): Ref DA34 .D49 2001
- Dictionary of the Middle Ages
New York: Scribner's 1982
13 vols. A scholarly, readable, and beautifully laid-out encyclopedia covering people, events, ideas, movements, texts, and cultural features of the medieval world. Articles are often illustrated with period art work and are followed by bibliographies of primary and secondary sources.
• Location(s): Ref D 114 .D5 1982
- Dictionary of World History
Includes over 4,000 entries on people, religious and political movements, international organizations, and places.
- Encyclopedia of Eastern Europe from the Congress of Vienna to the Fall of Communism
New York: Garland 2000
Offers long essays on the countries and regions of Eastern Europe as well as shorter entries on history, geography, culture, concepts, and prominent figures.
• Location(s): Ref DJK 6 .E53 2000
- Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 to 2000
New York: Scribner 2001
6 vols. Offers substantial, well-documented survey essays on topics such as social change, urban and rural life, gender, popular culture, religion, and everyday life.
• Location(s): Ref HN373 .E63 2001
- Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
New York: Scribner's 1996 2nd edition
The 5,000+ articles in this resource give a remarkably complete overview of current knowledge about the region. Entries are arranged alphabetically by country, by topic (such as slavery, art, Asians in Latin America), and biographically. Articles are written by experts and are followed by selective bibliographies.
• Location(s): Ref F 1406 .E53 2008
- Encyclopedia of Russian History
Offers succinct but scholarly articles on events, cultural developments, ethnic groups, economic issues, organizations, prominent historical figures, and issues in Russian history.
• Location(s): Ref DK 14 .E53 2004 (4 vols.)
- Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
New York: Oxford University Press 2002
Offers a broad range of entries about individuals and concepts related to the Enlightenment in Europe and America.
• Location(s): Ref B 802 .E53 2002 (4 vols.)
- Encyclopedia of the Holocaust
New York: Macmillan Publishing Co. 1990
Offers lengthy articles on topics, each followed by a selective bibliography of useful sources. Covers people, places, events, and concepts.
• Location(s): Ref D 804.3 .E53 1990 (4 vols.)
- Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
New York: Scribner's 1999
Covers nearly 1,200 cultural and historical topics relating to Europe from 1350 to the early seventeenth century.
• Location(s): Ref CB 361 .E52 1999 (6 vols.)
- Encyclopedia of World War I
Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio 2005
• Location(s): Ref D510 .E53 2005 (5 vols.)
- Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History
Santa Barbara: ABC-Clio 2005
These two specialized encyclopedias offer articles on a variety of topics related to the two world wars.
• Location(s): Ref D 740 .E516 2005 (5 vols.)
- New Dictionary of the History of Ideas
New York: Scribner's 2005
Covers a wide range of ideas historically and internationally. Particularly strong for overviews of current ideas taken in historical context, listing essential and significant texts that contributed to the development of concepts.
• Location(s): Ref CB 9 .N49 2005
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
New York: Oxford 2003
Offers nearly 900 essays on issues in the field, from multiple perspectives including interdisciplinary approaches and global coverage. Entries cover broad topics such as "property rights" and "social mobility," significant figures, countries, industries, and technical terms.
• Location(s): Ref HC 15 .O94 2003 (5 vols.)
- Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
New York: Oxford University Press 1996
Covers people, places, events, documents, and ideas relevant to the Reformation in lengthy, scholarly articles. Each reflects current research and interpretation and is followed by a selective bibliography.
• Location(s): Ref BR 302.8 .O93 1996 (4 vols.)
, Environmental Studies
, Gustavus History
, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies
, Special Collections and Rare Books
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License