LibGuides: A Guide to History: The Popular Press

Historical News Sources

American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collections This link opens in a new window
These collections include digitized images of American magazines and journals documenting the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Includes content published between 1684 and 1912. Access to collections 1-5 is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Black Life in America: The Experience and Impact of African Americans as Recorded by the News Media (1976-current) This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection covers African American history and experience as recorded by the news media. Sources include a variety of American and global news sources, including current and historical Black publications. NOTE: The library subscribes to Series 3 (1976-current).

Historical Minneapolis Tribune (1867-1930)
Includes the Minneapolis Daily Tribune (1867-77), Tribune (1877-82), Daily Minnesota Tribune (1882-84), Minneapolis Daily Tribune (1884-86), Minneapolis Tribune (1886-1909), and Minneapolis Morning Tribune (1909-30).

New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019 (Trial) This link opens in a new window
An online, full-text facsimile of over 200 years of The Times (UK). This newspaper archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of research. NOTE: Trial expires January 7, 2022.

- Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
  New York: P. Smith 1938 Rev. ed. edition
  An index to the contents of periodicals published in the nineteenth century in England and America. Covers 1802-1881, with supplements that cover through 1906. Though less easy to use than later indexes, it offers access to articles in popular periodicals by subject. Headings are not always easy to guess--the Civil War, for example, is found under United States--Civil War.
  • Location(s): Ref AI 3 .P7 1938 (6 vols.)
  1802-1881 + suppls to 1906

- Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
  H. W. Wilson Company 1900 -
  Indexes articles and reviews from a range of magazines. A separate book review index is located after the general index.
  • Location(s): Reference A13 .R28
  1900 - present

Email Me

Contact:

You can find me in the College and Lutheran Church Archives, the offices above the library's main entrance.

Subjects: Archives, Environmental Studies, Geography, Greek, Latin & Classical Studies, Gustavus History, History, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies, Religion, Special Collections and Rare Books