While people sometimes think that an academic library exists only to help students with their research, the Gustavus Library offers a wide range of benefits for all members of the Gustavus community. Want to read the latest bestseller? Check out a DVD? Curious about ways your office or department can collaborate with us? Or maybe you have a research question of your own. Whatever your need, we're here to help. This guide will give you a sense of the services and resources we provide for all Gustavus employees.
When we work with students, our biggest message is this: if you have a question, ask. We extend this same invitation to you - please don't hesitate to contact any library employee with any question. You can also browse our Library FAQs guide for more information on library hours and services. If you're a faculty member curious about library support for your teaching and research, visit our Resources for Faculty guide.
Above all, we want to hear from you! Is there anything the Library doesn't have that you'd like us to add? Are there things in the Library that you'd like to know more about? Use this form to tell us anything you'd like us to know. We can't wait to hear from you!
We have many spaces that can be reserved or used on a first-come, first-served basis. Use this link to explore our available spaces, check availability, and make a reservation.
Does your office or department have an information need? Is there a question your office is studying and you need to compile resources? Is there a program or service you want to offer students and you think the Library would be a good partner? We are always open to collaborations.
Please contact us to talk more about your ideas and needs. We'd love to brainstorm and forge stronger relationships across campus.
The College and Lutheran Church Archives, located on the third floor of the Library, contains a of wealth of information about Gustavus history. Browse the online collections or stop by and visit in person!
The College and Lutheran Church Archives also oversees Gustavus' Records Management program.
Did you know the Library contains a substantial fiction collection? We also buy many popular nonfiction titles. All employees are welcome to check out library materials. In addition to searching the catalog to find specific titles, you can browse recreational reading materials in a number of places:
Use your Gustavus ID to check out materials at the Information Desk (main desk right inside the entrance). Information on circulation policies, including loan periods, can be found here. And check out our Reading Resources guide for recommendations and suggestions on ways to discover your next great read.
Navigating the call number system can be tricky at first. We've got a guide that walks you through finding books on the shelf, or ask at the Information Desk for directions. This is one of the most common questions we get, so don't feel like you've missed something if you're having trouble finding books in our building.
Did you know you can also order recreational reading books from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL)? Our ILL page walks you through the process. You can always ask for help with Interlibrary Loan at the Information Desk or Reference Desk. *Note that books in high demand, like recent bestsellers, might be difficult to obtain. Keep your local public library in mind, too.*
Is there a book we don't have that you think we should? Use this form to suggest it!
The Library has a good collection of popular movies, mostly available on DVD. We purchase many award winners each year. Best of all, these are available for you to check out!
You can search the catalog to see if we own a specific title. You can also browse our collection, which is located on the north side of the bottom floor. And if you don't have a DVD player, we've got you covered. You can check out portable DVD players at the Information Desk.
Catch up on the latest library news here!
"Google can bring you back 100,000 answers. A librarian can bring you back the right one." -Neil Gaiman
In most areas of life, we encounter research needs. Maybe you are investigating how other institutions handle a particular issue related to your work. Or you're wondering about best practices related to your field. Or you're trying to discover the most current research on a particular topic. Our reference services and resources are meant for all members of the Gustavus community, whether you are doing traditional scholarly research or not. Here are a number of ways we can help:
