A Guide to Energy Geography: Energy Geography Journals

What's the difference between articles, journals, and databases? Articles are published in journals. Journals are indexed in databases such as Academic Search Premier.

How can I find the full text of articles? Most databases include links for full text access. Visit our Tracking Down Materials page for more information.

How can I tell if a source is scholarly? Visit our Source Types page for help.

"Rows of peat bricks lie in the African sun..." by United Nations Photo is licensed under CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

Research Help:

• Visit the Reference Desk (main floor) (M-F 10:30-2:30)
• Chat with a librarian (M-F10:30-2:30)
• E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name and the best way to contact you)
• Make an Appointment: schedule an appointment for a one-on-one consultation with a librarian
• Fill out the Research Next Steps form; a librarian will respond with research suggestions and advice

What are review articles and why are they useful? Review articles summarize the current state of research on a particular topic and are a good place to start. The articles below provide overviews of the field of energy geography:

Below is a list of some of the key energy geography journals and where they are indexed (searchable). You can search the content of all of these journals in Academic Search Premier (ASP) or Web of Science (WOS) as indicated below. Full text availability is listed in parentheses. If full text available is not listed, you can request articles from another library using the "Find It!" link.

• Annals of the American Association of Geographers (full text in ASP with 18 month delay; current issues available in print)
• Antipode (full text in ASP with 12 month delay)
• Economic Geography (full text linked in ASP)
• Energy for Sustainable Development (indexed in WOS)
• Energy Policy (indexed in WOS)
• Energy Research & Social Science (indexed in WOS, full text on publisher's site)
• The Geographical Journal (full text in ASP with a 12 month delay)
• Geography Compass (indexed in ASP)
• Geopolitics (full text in ASP with a 15 month delay)
• Journal of Peasant Studies (indexed in WOS)
• Political Geography (indexed in ASP and WOS)
• Progress in Human Geography (full text current in ASP)

Many geography journals are indexed in Academic Search Premier and Web of Science. You may also want to search Google Scholar.