A Guide to English: Digital Humanities

"The Digital Humanities Coursebook provides critical frameworks for the application of Digital Humanities tools and platforms, which have become an integral part of work across a wide range of disciplines. Written by an expert with twenty years of experience in this field, the book is focused on the principles and fundamental concepts for application, rather than on specific tools or platforms. Each chapter contains examples of projects, tools, or platforms that demonstrate these principles in action. The book is structured to complement courses on digital humanities and provides a series of modules, each of which is organized around a set of concerns and topics, thought experiments and questions, as well as specific discussion of the ways in which tools and platforms work. The book covers a wide range of topics and clearly details how to integrate the acquisition of expertise in data, metadata, classification, interface, visualization, network analysis, topic modelling, data mining, mapping, and web presentation with issues in intellectual property, sustainability, privacy, and the ethical use of information. Written in an accessible and engaging manner, The Digital Humanities Coursebook will be a useful guide for anyone teaching or studying a course in the areas of digital humanities, library and information science, English, or computer science. The book will provide a framework for direct engagement with digital humanities and, as such, should be of interest to others working across the humanities too." - from the publisher

"Writing in a Technological World explores how to think rhetorically, act multimodally, and be sensitive to diverse audiences while writing in technological contexts such as social media, websites, podcasts, and mobile technologies. Claire Lutkewitte includes a wealth of assignments, activities, and discussion questions to apply theory to practice in the development of writing skills. Featuring real-world examples from professionals who write using a wide range of technologies, each chapter provides practical suggestions for writing for a variety of purposes and a variety of audiences. By looking at technologies of the past to discover how meanings have evolved over time and applying the present technology to current working contexts, readers will be prepared to meet the writing and technological challenges of the future. This is the ideal text for undergraduate and graduate courses in composition, writing with technologies, and professional/business writing." - from the publisher

"Digital Humanities is rapidly evolving as a significant approach to/method of teaching, learning and research across the humanities. This is a first-stop book for people interested in getting to grips with digital humanities whether as a student or a professor. Doing Digital Humanities looks at the practicalities of how digital research and creation can enhance both learning and research and offers an approachable way into this complex, yet essential topic." - from the publisher

"Scholars of nineteenth-century American literature have been at the forefront of digital humanities scholarship with several of the most successfully funded and publicized digital projects, including The Walt Whitman Archive, the Emily Dickinson Electronic Archive, and the Melville Electronic Library. This collection brings together several scholars who are foundational to the development of digital humanities and to the building of nineteenth-century American digital archives alongside scholars who have made digital methods central to their pedagogy. Here they write about their pedagogical practices, focus on specific tools that are available to teachers and scholars, and share their resources and inspirations for the American literature classroom. Essays in the collection consider how to both use and build digital projects and how to incorporate into the curriculum already established digital materials pertaining to the study of the period." - from the publisher

"This highly-anticipated volume has been extensively revised to reflect changes in technology, digital humanities methods and practices, and institutional culture surrounding the valuation and publication of digital scholarship. A fully revised edition of a celebrated reference work, offering the most comprehensive and up-to-date collection of research currently available in this rapidly evolving discipline. Includes new articles addressing topical and provocative issues and ideas such as retro computing, desktop fabrication, gender dynamics, and globalization. Brings together a global team of authors who are pioneers of innovative research in the digital humanities. Accessibly structured into five sections exploring infrastructures, creation, analysis, dissemination, and the future of digital humanities. Surveys the past, present, and future of the field, offering essential research for anyone interested in better understanding the theory, methods, and application of the digital humanities." - from the publisher

Librarian's note: Older edition available for free on the ADHO website.

"This Companion offers an extensive examination of how new technologies are changing the nature of literary studies, from scholarly editing and literary criticism, to interactive fiction and immersive environments. A complete overview exploring the application of computing in literary studies. Includes the seminal writings from the field. Focuses on methods and perspectives, new genres, formatting issues, and best practices for digital preservation. Explores the new genres of hypertext, literature, installations, gaming, and web blogs. The Appendix serves as an annotated bibliography" - from the publisher

"Can established humanities methods coexist with computational thinking? It is one of the major questions in humanities research today, as scholars increasingly adopt sophisticated data science for their work. James E. Dobson explores the opportunities and complications faced by humanists in this new era. Though the study and interpretation of texts alongside sophisticated computational tools can serve scholarship, these methods cannot replace existing frameworks. As Dobson shows, ideas of scientific validity cannot easily nor should be adapted for humanities research because digital humanities, unlike science, lack a leading-edge horizon charting the frontiers of inquiry. Instead, the methods of digital humanities require a constant rereading. At the same time, suspicious and critical readings of digital methodologies make it unwise for scholars to defer to computational methods. Humanists must examine the tools--including the assumptions that went into the codes and algorithms--and questions surrounding their own use of digital technology in research. Insightful and forward thinking, this book lays out a new path of humanistic inquiry that merges critical theory and computational science." - from the publisher

"Laying the Foundation: Digital Humanities in Academic Libraries examines the library's role in the development, implementation, and instruction of successful digital humanities projects. It pays special attention to the critical role of librarians in building sustainable programs. It also examines how libraries can support the use of digital scholarship tools and techniques in undergraduate education. Academic libraries are nexuses of research and technology; as such, they provide fertile ground for cultivating and curating digital scholarship. However, adding digital humanities to library service models requires a clear understanding of the resources and skills required. Integrating digital scholarship into existing models calls for a reimagining of the roles of libraries and librarians. In many cases, these reimagined roles call for expanded responsibilities, often in the areas of collaborative instruction and digital asset management, and in turn these expanded responsibilities can strain already stretched resources. Laying the Foundation provides practical solutions to the challenges of successfully incorporating digital humanities programs into existing library services. Collectively, its authors argue that librarians are critical resources for teaching digital humanities to undergraduate students and that libraries are essential for publishing, preserving, and making accessible digital scholarship." - from the publisher

"Digital Humanities for Librarians is a one-stop resource for librarians and LIS students working in this growing new area of academic librarianship. The book begins by introducing digital humanities and addressing key questions such as "What is it?" "Who does it?" "How do they do it?" "Why do they do it?" and "How can I do it?" This broad overview is followed by a series of practical chapters answering those questions with step-by-step approaches to both the digital and human elements of digital humanities librarianship. Special features include: Case studies of a wide range of projects and management issues. An accompanying website featuring digital humanities tools and resources and digital interviews with librarians and scholars leading the way in digital humanities work." - from the publisher

"The role of archives and libraries in our digital age is one of the most pressing concerns of humanists, scholars, and citizens worldwide. Questions of what to keep and how to keep it touch the very core of who we are as individuals, cultures, nations, and humankind. Now, more than ever, the accessibility of curated historical information, the sharing of resources, and the uses of digitization raise questions central to democratic societies. This edited book brings together specialists from academia, public libraries, governmental agencies, and non-profit archives to pursue common questions about value across the institutional boundaries that typically separate us." -- Provided by publisher