LibGuides: A Guide to History: Articles

Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

When you have a source with a bibliography, you can see if a particular article from the bibliography is available by looking the journal's name up at the link below. Then you can use the volume and date information to navigate to the article. If we don't have access to that journal, we usually can get it from another library.

Search the Journals List: Do We Have this Journal?

History Journals in Print

In addition to journals for historians, the library has many popular magazines from the 19th and 20th centuries that can be used as primary sources. An index to them, the Reader's Guide to Periodicals, is available in the reference collection. Feel free to ask a librarian for help.

Current scholarly journals about history

Current History
History Today (current issue shelved on main floor)
Journal of American History
Journal of Southern History
Journal of the West
Minnesota History
Western Historical Quarterly

Recommended Article Databases

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes hundreds of full-text journals.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Historical Abstracts with Full Text covers world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from the 15th century to the present. It includes hundreds of full text history journals and books.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of journals, academic eBooks, images, and primary sources. JSTOR provides book and journal content from the date of initial publication up to a "moving wall" of 3 to 5 years before the present year.
Project Muse Basic College Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full text electronic access to over 100 scholarly journals in humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics. Topics covered include literary theory; classics; history and cultural studies; philosophy; film, theatre and the performing arts; political science and mathematics.

Librarian

Jeff Jenson

Email Me

Contact:

You can find me in the College and Lutheran Church Archives, the offices above the library's main entrance.

Subjects: Archives, Environmental Studies, Geography, Greek, Latin & Classical Studies, Gustavus History, History, Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies, Religion, Special Collections and Rare Books