The Library has a range of research materials to support your work, whether you're a student, faculty member, employee, or independent researcher. We also have a selection of magazines and books for leisure reading. This page introduces ways to locate those materials and points you to additional resources. For more information on conducting college-level research, please visit our Doing Research guide. For recommendations on how to conduct research in particular areas of study, consult our Research Guides. For information on accessible materials, please consult our Accessibility Services and Materials guide.
Finally, the answer to many of these research questions is ask a librarian! Our jobs are to help you find the research materials you are seeking, as well as consult on research approaches and troubleshoot any issues that come up. You can connect with us in a variety of ways: in person, by appointment, chat, or email. Our Reference Services page has all the details, plus contact information.
How do I find articles?
The easiest way to search for articles is through one of our many databases, linked on the Library's home page on the databases tab. The first database listed, Academic Search Premier, is a great place to start for most topics. You can also consult the Research Guides for recommendations on databases to use for specific areas of study. You can also search Google Scholar, although since it doesn't contain every item ever published, we recommend you also search other databases.
What if I find an article but it's not full text in the database?
No problem! You can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request materials from other libraries; this service is free to you! The Interlibrary Loan page has additional details; you can also consult this page on tracking down hard copies of materials. You can always ask a librarian for help, too. Finding hard copies of sources can be tricky and we are happy to help.
I need to find primary sources. What are they and how do I do that?
A primary source is a historical document, such as a diary, memoir, a work of art, a news account published when an event was fresh - something from the historical period under examination. To find them, see our Guide to Primary Sources.
Does the Library have movies and if so, how do I find them?
Yes! We have movies in both DVD and streaming formats. Search our catalog to find out if we have a specific video. DVDs are shelved by call number downstairs, near the front stairwell. Some may be kept on reserve at the Front Desk. Streaming videos will have a link from the catalog.
How do I see which books the library owns?
To find out what materials the library owns, search our online catalog through this link or by using the search box on the library's homepage.
I have a call number for a book but I'm having trouble finding it in the library. Can you help?
This is one of the most common questions we get. The call number system is a little tricky, but once you practice it a few times, it will become easier. You can consult our guide on locating books and/or ask for help at the Information Desk (located right inside the main entrance).
How long can I keep books? And is there a limit to how many I can check out at a time?
Our loan periods are generous - we want you to have the materials you need! This page provides information on loan periods and other circulation policies.
What if I need a book the library doesn't have?
No problem! You can use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) to request materials from other libraries; this service is free to you! The Interlibrary Loan page has additional details; you can also consult this page on tracking down hard copies of materials. You can always ask a librarian for help, too. Finding hard copies of sources can be tricky and we are happy to help.
Do you carry any popular fiction or nonfiction titles?
Yes we do! While our collections primarily support the Gustavus curriculum, we also buy materials suitable for leisure reading. You can search the catalog to find specific titles or visit the Browsing section, which is located near the main entrance. Our guide to finding leisure reading has even more details.
I'm a faculty member. How can the library support my teaching and research?
The answer to this question is so big that we have not one but five separate guides addressing library/faculty partnerships. Start with our Resources for Faculty and then move into our guides about teaching research (in partnership with the library) for first year students, upper level students, and WRITL courses. We also have a guide to open access resources.
Who should I contact for more information about library support?
While you're welcome to contact any of us, we do have a liaison program with every department and program. Your liaison is a great place to start with any questions.
I work at Gustavus but I'm not a faculty member. Can I still use the library?
Absolutely! We're here to serve the entire campus community - and beyond! You can borrow materials, reserve rooms, and get research help. For more information, we invite you to consult our guide to library services for employees.
I have more questions about research. Where do I go from here?
When in doubt, ask a librarian! You can connect with us in a variety of ways: in person, by appointment, chat, or email. Our Reference Services page has all the details, plus contact information. We also recommend the Doing Research guide for a more in-depth treatment of conducting college-level research, including finding, evaluating and using sources.
