LibGuides: Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies: Social Issues and History

Finding Articles

Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
America: History and Life This link opens in a new window
Indexes literature related to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistorical times to the present. Covers over 1,700 journals published worldwide including key English-language historical journals, selected historical journals from major countries, and state and local history journals, as well as books, dissertations and book reviews. Note: Access limited to 6 simultaneous users.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."

For More Information

We have a number of guides that may be of interest for research into social issues and history.

Activism

Black Lives Matter

Gender Identity and the Bathroom Debate

Indigenous People's Day

In Search of Economic Balance

Racism in Minnesota

Sexual Assault and Rape Culture

Silver or Lead: The Violence of the War on Drugs

In the Reference Collection - Social Justice

The SAGE Encyclopedia of World Poverty by Mehmet A. Odekon (Editor)
Call Number: Reference HV12 .E54 2015
ISBN: 9781483345703
Publication Date: 2015-08-04
Racial and Ethnic Relations in America by Maria E. Perez y Gonzalez (Editorial Board Member); Gregroy Walters (Editorial Board Member); Christina J. Moose (Editor-In-Chief); Rowena Wildin (Editorial Coordinator); Carl L. Bankston (Editor); Carole A. Barrett (Editorial Board Member); Kibibi Mack (Editorial Board Member); Franklin Ng (Editorial Board Member); William Osborne (Editorial Board Member); Ranee K. L. Panjabi (Editorial Board Member); William E. Pemberton (Editorial Board Member)
Call Number: Reference E49 .R33 2000
ISBN: 0893566292
Publication Date: 1999-08-01
Encyclopedia of Race and Ethnic Studies by Ellis Cashmore
Call Number: Reference GN495.6 .C37 2004
ISBN: 0415286743
Publication Date: 2003-11-04
Encyclopedia of Race and Racism by Patrick L. Mason
Call Number: Reference E184.A1 E584 2013
ISBN: 0028661753
Publication Date: 2013-02-01
Encyclopedia of American Social Movements by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: Reference HN57 .E594 2004
ISBN: 0765680459
Publication Date: 2004-08-31

In the Reference Collection - History

There are specialized encyclopedias in the reference section covering major world conflicts, including World War I and World War II as well as the Civil War, the Vietnam War, and the Korean War. These tend to emphasize military history but include some social history as well. Other encyclopedias cover historical periods and national history.

Conflict in Ancient Greece and Rome by Sara E. Phang (Editor); Douglas Kelly (Editor); Peter Londey (Editor); Iain Spence (Editor)
Call Number: Reference JC73 .C675 2016
ISBN: 9781610690195
Publication Date: 2016-06-27
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by Schmuel Spector (Editor); Robert Rozett (Editor)
Call Number: Reference D804.25 .E53 2000
ISBN: 0816043337
Publication Date: 2000-09-01

Peace, Justice, and Conflict Studies: Social Issues and History

Questions These Resources Address

Finding Articles

For More Information

In the Reference Collection - Social Justice

In the Reference Collection - History