Primary Sources for HIS 298 - HIS 298 Queer Histories - Challenge Seminar

Overview

The Library provides access to a number of primary sources. Browse the categories and options below. You can also consult our Guide to Primary Sources for even more information.

A New Era For Women Workers, Minority Women and Lesbians, from the Library of Congress

Ask Us!

24/7 Chat: When Gustavus librarians are not available, librarians from other institutions will be available to help you 24/7.

Research Help Appointments: Schedule a one-on-one consultation with a Gustavus librarian; both in person and virtual appointments are available.

Research Next Steps Program: Fill out this form at any point in your research; a librarian will respond with suggestions and tips within two business days.

E-mail: folke@gustavus.edu (please include your name, the best way to contact you, and a brief description of your research needs)

Selected Primary Sources

There is no singular portal for searching for primary sources. Below is a selected list of primary source collections that may be relevant to your research.

Civil Rights and Social Justice This link opens in a new window
An online collection of publications on civil rights in the United States. This collection includes publications from the Commission on Civil Rights, legislative histories on landmark legislation, briefs from relevant U.S. Supreme Court cases, and more. The Civil Rights & Social Justice database is provided to libraries at no cost by HeinOnline.
New York Times Historical This link opens in a new window
The full text of the New York Times from 1851 to 4 years ago -- covering the entire publishing history of the newspaper back to the first issue. The newspaper text is fully indexed and searchable and the database also contains full-page images, including graphics.
Phyllis Lyon, Del Martin and the Daughters of Bilitis This link opens in a new window
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents the work of Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin, founders in 1955 of the first lesbian rights organization in U.S. history, the Daughters of Bilitis (DOB). They also were instrumental in the formation and growth of other related social movements, including the contemporary women’s rights movement. Covers 1955-1984.
Phyllis Lyon and Del Martin: Beyond the Daughters of Bilitis This link opens in a new window
This collection, from the library of the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual and Transgender Historical Society in San Francisco, documents decades of Phyllis Lyon & Del Martin’s work for the LGBT movement and the women’s rights movement in both in San Francisco and nationally. Included are minutes, correspondence, and notes related to their work with the ACLU, the San Francisco Coalition for Human Rights, the Commission on Crime Control and Violence Protection, the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, the San Francisco Commission on the Status of Women, the San Francisco Human Rights Commission, and the National Organization for Women. Covers 1966-1984.
Student Activism This link opens in a new window
Student Activism is a primary source collection of material related to student activism in the 20th and early 21st century. It includes fliers, newsletters, event documentation, and more. When complete, the collection will contain over 75,000 pages of documents.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Primary source documents related to the history of women and social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000.

College and Lutheran Church Archives

College and Lutheran Church Archives
by Archives Last Updated Aug 11, 2020 209 views this year

Heterodoxy (student-run journal)
GACA Collection 038. Womyn’s Awareness Center. Heterodoxy, 1989-Ongoing
Queer History and Culture in the U.S.: 1890-Present
GACA Collection 357. Queer History and Culture in the U.S.: 1890-Present. "Queer History at Gustavus" Display Materials, 2014.
Queers and Allies. Collection of Queers and Allies, 2003-Ongoing.
GACA Collection 432. Queers and Allies. Collection of Queers and Allies, 2003-Ongoing.
Ovanlig: The Newsletter. Newsletters, 1998.
CAMC Collection 14. Ovanlig: The Newsletter. Newsletters, 1998.
LGTBQ+ Images in the College Archives
This database contains several thousand images of Gustavus-related content from the 1800s into the 2020s

Primary? Secondary?

The term "primary source" is defined differently by various disciplines.

In the humanities, a primary source is a historical document, such as a diary, memoir, a work of art, a news account published when an event was fresh - something from the historical period under examination.
In the sciences, a primary source is a scientist's write-up of their research that includes their methods and results, as opposed to science journalism or a summary of research (a "review article") that has been conducted to provide an overview of research on a given topic.

A secondary source is one that has already been analyzed by someone else. There are also tertiary sources, such as a textbook or encyclopedia, that summarizes knowledge in general terms.

Primary sources help a researcher get as close as possible to the subject under examination. They can point your reader to the raw materials of your ideas and provide an opportunity for you to do your own, original analysis. For more about primary sources, check out our guide to primary sources available in our library.

HIS 298 Queer Histories - Challenge Seminar: Primary Sources for HIS 298

Overview

Ask Us!

Selected Primary Sources

College and Lutheran Church Archives

Primary? Secondary?