Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These books from Reference Collection contain general information pertaining to the Environment.
Encyclopedia of Sustainability by
Call Number: Ref GE 10 .C65 2010
Publication Date: 2009-12-01
This expansive encyclopedia breaks new ground, giving definition and focus to an urgent and much-talked-about topic that is extraordinarily wide ranging and all too often misunderstood. As the first major reference work in its field, the three comprehensive volumes span the entire scope of sustainability from ecological concepts to financial concerns to public policy and community action, giving readers a solid foundation from which to think critically about efforts to make a more sustainable world. The Encyclopedia of Sustainability comprises three volumes, each dedicated to one of three equally important contexts in which the term is used: environment and ecology, business and economics, and equity and fairness.
Environmental Encyclopedia by
Call Number: Ref GE 10 .E38 2011
Publication Date: 2011-06-07
Concise coverage of environmental issues and scientific concepts. Includes organizations, people, places, economic and political issues, popular and scientific terminology. Includes illustrations and tables.
Encyclopedia of the Environment by
Call Number: Ref GE 10 .E53 1994
Publication Date: 1994-08-09
Includes concise articles on environmental problems, the impact of business and social institutions on the natural environment, governmental involvement, legislation, etc.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues by
Call Number: Ref GE 10 .E523 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-20
Includes articles on events, issues, individuals and organizations.
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science by
Call Number: Ref GE 10 .M66 2000
Publication Date: 2000-10-16
Covers major topics and emerging issues in the field, highlighting issues of particular contemporary significance.
Encyclopedia of Environment and Society by
Call Number: Ref HM 856 .E53 2007
Publication Date: 2007-08-27
The Encyclopedia of Environment and Society brings together multiplying issues, concepts, theories, examples, problems, and policies, with the goal of clearly explicating an emerging way of thinking about people and nature. With more than 1,200 entries written by experts from incredibly diverse fields, this innovative resource is a first step toward diving into the deep pool of emerging knowledge. The five volumes of this Encyclopedia represent more than a catalogue of terms. Rather, they capture the spirit of the moment, a fascinating time when global warming and genetic engineering represent only two of the most obvious examples of socio-environmental issues. (google books)
Encyclopedia of Global Warming and Climate Change by
Call Number: Ref QC 981.8 .G56 E47 2012
Publication Date: 2012-07-10
Explores major topics related to global warming and climate change-ranging geographically from the North Pole to the South Pole, and thematically from social effects to scientific causes. Covers the science and history of climate change, the controversies over climate-change theories, the role of societies, the industrial and economic factors, and the sociological aspects of climate change.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License