Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Biology and Conservation
Conservation and Environmentalism by
Call Number: Ref GE 10 .C68 1995
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
This book contains 500 brief entries, with bibliographies, covering issues of ecology, pollution and sustainability.
Encyclopedia of Endangered Species by
Call Number: Ref QH 75 .A1 E53
Publication Date: 1994-09-12
Describes over 700 animals and plants currently threatened with extinction. Arranged taxonomically; an index provides common and scientific name access. For each species the status, description and biology, habitat and current distribution, and history and conservation measures are described. Includes indexes by geographic location and a list of wildlife and conservation organizations.
Encyclopedia of the Biosphere by
Call Number: Ref QH 343.4 .B5613 2000
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Includes in-depth, scholarly articles on topics such as from agriculture, conservation, economic aspects of biodiversity, microbial biodiversity, public policy, and systematics.
A Dictionary of Ecology by
Call Number: Ref QH 540.4 .C66 2010
Publication Date: 2010-07-15
Covers thousands of terms in habitat management, molecular ecology, and conservation, as well as identifying important biologists in the field.
Encyclopedia of Biodiversity by
Call Number: Ref QH 541.15 .B56 E53 2001
Publication Date: 2000-10-25
Alphabetically arranged articles are classified into 20 broad categories, listed in "Contents by Subject Area." Subjects range from the core disciplines of biodiversity (evolution, species biodiversity, habitats and ecosystems, extinctions) to environmental conditions to human effects and interventions.
World Atlas of Biodiversity by
Call Number: Ref QH 541.15. B56 G762 2002
This work addresses the remarkable growth in concern at all levels for living things, the environment, and increased appreciation of the links between the state of ecosystems and the state of humankind. Building on a wealth of research and analysis by the conservation community worldwide, this book provides a comprehensive and accessible view of key global issues in biodiversity. It outlines some of the broad ecological relationships between humans and the rest of the material world and summarizes information on the health of the planet. (amazon)
Ecosystems of the World (series of books with various titles)
Call Number: various locations (many in general collection)
A book series which covers major ecosystems such as tropical rainforests, presenting research articles on many aspects of each ecosystem covered. Each article is written by an expert in the field and most include diagrams, photos, and lengthy bibliographies. Though the volumes are shelved in different areas, they can all be searched by the series title: "Ecosystems of the World."
The Conservation Atlas of Tropical Forests by
Call Number: Various locations in reference; check catalog
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Each volume covers general forest issues in the region followed by an analysis of these issues in individual countries.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License