Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites for General Environmental Studies Information
Environmental History Bibliography
This database contains references to over 35,000 books, articles, and dissertations on a variety of environmental topics, including ecology, conservation, sustainability, and natural resources. Coverage extends from 1633 to the present. Maintained by the Forest History Society at Duke University.
The U.S. Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works maintains this full text web portal of Federal environmental and public works laws.
Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
Search or browse to access news and reports on a variety of environmental issues. Technical publications, legal and regulatory information, and a database of enforcement and compliance actions taken by the EPA are available from this site. The MyEnvironment option allows you to view snapshot environmental data by geographic area.
The Evolution of the Conservation Movement, 1850-1920
A digital collection from the Library of Congress containing legislative documents, photos and pictures, 62 full text books, and two motion pictures. Can be searched or browsed chronologically.
Gapminder is a non-profit organization that promotes sustainable development by promoting an understanding of statistics. Under ‘gapminder tools’ on the website (scroll down on main page), their bubble chart provides an interactive way to analyze statistics from different countries on various social and environmental factors. This website does not provide access to article sources, but provides a means of generating general ideas of how various factors influence different countries, and allows for comparison between various time periods.
National Council for Science and the Environment (NCSE)
NCSE currently posts 2225 CRS Reports on environmental and related topics. The Congressional Research Service (CRS), part of the Library of Congress, prepares its reports for the U.S. Congress. CRS products undergo review for accuracy and objectivity and contain nontechnical information that can be very useful to people interested in environmental policy. CRS does not itself provide these documents to the general public. Although CRS documents are prepared specifically for Congress and not widely distributed, their distribution is not protected by law or copyright. NCSE is committed to expanding, maintaining and updating its database of reports, making them available and searchable for the public.
National Environmental Publications Information System
Search the full text of over 10,000 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency documents.
U.S. Department of Energy
Find information about energy sources and consumption in the United States.
World Bank: Documents and Reports
A searchable database of over 14,000 World Bank documents, many of which are full-text. Search by country or region, sector (agriculture, economic policy, environment, etc.), and date as well as by keywords. This database includes country economic and sector work documents, project documents, and research & working papers. Browsing is possible by country, document type, and sector. (Description from the Folger Library
World Resources Institute
Offers many digital publications on environmental issues from a global perspective. Includes a Maps & Data
, page with maps, charts, data sets, infographics, and other visual resources.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License