Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
World Energy Crisis by
Call Number: Ref HD 9502 .A2 N498 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-01
This volume provides a thorough investigation of a controversial topic: our current global energy situation, and what actions should be taken to prevent a crippling fuel-supply catastrophe in the future. The book presents a historical background for current energy problems that discusses the supply and consumption of various forms of energy at different periods of history, covering the evolution of energy use in civilization beginning with human muscle power, the successive eras of mechanized industry and transportation, and our current dependence on fossil fuels. (google books)
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Energy
Call Number: Ref TJ 163.28 .M33 2001
Covers major technologies associated with energy production and use as well as historical, political, ethical, and social aspects of the subject. Short, accessible articles.
Encyclopedia of Energy Technology and the Environment
Call Number: Ref TJ 163.235 .E53 1995
Provides lengthy articles on the technologies used to produce energy and their effects on the environment, with extensive tables, graphs and diagrams. Most article, written by experts in the field, are followed by extensive bibliographies.
The Wiley Encyclopedia of Energy and the Environment, 2 Volume Set
Call Number: Ref TJ 163.235 .W55 1997
Includes lengthy, authored articles with extensive bibliographies on topics of energy production and use and their environmental effects. Also includes information on related legal and policy issues.
Nuclear Power by
Call Number: Ref TK 9146 .H45 2014
"In the 21st century, nuclear power has been identified as a viable alternative to traditional energy sources to stem global climate change, and condemned as risky to human health and environmentally irresponsible. Do the advantages of nuclear energy outweigh the risks, especially in light of the meltdown at the Fukushima plant in 2011? This guide provides both a comprehensive overview of this critical and controversial technology, presenting reference tools that include important facts and statistics, biographical profiles, a chronology, and a glossary. It covers major controversies and proposed solutions in detail and contains contributions by experts and important stakeholders that provide invaluable perspective on the topic." -- Publisher's description.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License