Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
History, Ethics, & Literature
Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy
Call Number: Ref GE 42 .E533 2009
Publication Date: 2008-10-15
More than 300 peer-reviewed articles cover concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage. Additional features include 200 photographs and illustrations, thematic outline, annotated bibliography, and a comprehensive index. (Google)
Encyclopedia of Global Change by
Call Number: Ref GE 149 .E47 2002
Publication Date: 2001-12-13
This encyclopedia focuses on the interaction of human and natural forces and the effect on global change. Its interdisciplinary approach embraces the fields of atmospheric science, biology, economics, ethics, geography, and political science.
Encyclopedia of American Environmental History by
Call Number: Ref GE 150 .E53 2011
Publication Date: 2010-11-01
Begins with eight broad thematic essays, which highlight the major issues and topics in environmental history and serve as an entryway to other, more specific articles throughout the reference. Arranged alphabetically, more than 750 articles cover every significant issue, event, law, and figure in U.S. environmental history. --from publisher description
Great Events from History II, Ecology and the Environment by
Call Number: Ref GE 150 .G72 1995
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
Chronologically arranged articles on major events and developments for environmental issues and ecology, 1902-1994. Each event is summarized, analyzed, and cross-referenced to other events.
Encyclopedia of World Environmental History by
Call Number: Ref GF 10 .E63 2004
Publication Date: 2003-10-31
Covers topics, events, people, natural resources, and aspects of human interaction with the environment worldwide. Provides historical surveys of environmental issues such as deforestation and extinction. Also offers regional and national overviews as well as essays on subfields such as environmental philosophy.
Environmental Values, 1860-1972 by
Call Number: Ref GF 503 .O95 1976
Publication Date: 1976-05-01
Annotated bibliography of books, articles, reports and conferences related to environmental topics in America, specifically nature writing and environmental history.
American Nature Writers by
Call Number: Ref PS 163 .A6 1996
Publication Date: 1996-10-01
Offers lengthy biocritical sketches on writers from Edward Abbey to Ann Zwinger. The second volume also contains essays on topics such as African American nature writing, nature poetry, and the literature of mountaineering. Lengthy selective bibliographies are included.
Encyclopedia of the Environment in American Literature by
Call Number: Ref PS 169 .E25 E53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
"This encyclopedia introduces readers to American poetry, fiction and nonfiction with a focus on the environment (defined as humanity's natural surroundings), from the discovery of America through the present. The work includes biographical and literary entries on material from early explorers and colonists; through Native American creation myths; canonical 18th- and 19th-century works; to more recent figures"--Provided by publisher.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License