Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites for Geology
National Water Information System: Web Interface
Provides access to water quality data from about 1.5 million sites across the US, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.
EPA Ground Water and Drinking Water
Online resource that provides information on the Safe Water Drinking Act, drinking water standards, water health advisories, and access to water data and quality reports.
Geologic and Soil Surveys
Many geologic and soil surveys are available in the library's government documents collection. These materials are shelved in the library's lower level and can be searched in the library catalog.
Surf Your Watershed (EPA)
Allows for searches of specific watersheds and provides information about water quality data, groups working to protect the watershed, and information about the watershed from the USGS.
USGS National Geologic Map Database
Database provided by the USGS. Gives access to the USGS map catalog with over 90,000 products from 600 publishers. Also provides a map interface for exploring available maps by specific states and areas. Note that not all maps listed in the database allow for direct access.
USGS Publications Warehouse
Provides access to over 130,000 publications written by the USGS.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License