Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library & Archives Grants: Sesquicentennial Mini-Grant

Gustavus Adolphus College Sesquicentennial

Gustavus Adolphus College celebrated its 150th academic year in the fall of 2011, concluding in the fall of 2012. As part of this celebration, academic departments, programs, and divisions were encouraged to consider activities to celebrate and highlight academic excellence that align with the philosophy and goals of the Sesquicentennial.

from Gustavus Adolphus College Website

College and Lutheran Church Archives

The College and Lutheran Church Archives makes available for use and study significant historical materials documenting Gustavus Adolphus College and the Lutheran Church in America.

The Archives houses materials in three main areas: Gustavus Adolphus College Archives (GACA), College Archives Manuscript Collections (CAMC), and Lutheran Church Archives (LCA).

The GACA division holds materials documenting the college's administrative, academic, and support departments along with materials on athletics and student organizations.

Materials in the CAMC document people and organizations affiliated with Gustavus. This includes groups and alumni along with former members of the faculty, administration, and staff.

The Lutheran Church Archives consist primarily of administrative records of Minnesota affiliates of the Lutheran Church in America (LCA). Predecessor and supporting synods have included the Minnesota Conference and Synod, the Red River Valley Conference and Synod, and the English Evangelical Lutheran Synod of the Northwest. In addition, there are congregational histories, biographical files regarding clergy and church leaders, and microfilmed church records (ending about 1930).

from College and Lutheran Church Archives Website

Gustavus Adolphus College Digitized Images

         

Images from College and Lutheran Church Archives

Sesquicentennial Grant

The College and Lutheran Church Archives received a Sesquicentennial Grant of $17,600 for the purchase of CONTENTdm software, OCR activation fee, and an additional server with backup. The purchase of these items necessary for the preservation and online accessibility of Gustavus historical resources fulfilled the Sesquicentennial purpose and goals.

The purpose of the Sesquicentennial year of celebration is for the Gustavus community to take pride in the College’s history and traditions and deepen their own engagement, while providing momentum for a future of sustained excellence. The Sesquicentennial Goals include: 1) celebrate the Gustavus core values and mission, 2) capture and tell the "Gustavus story" within the Gustavus community and beyond, and 3) dramatically expand the number of people and depth of their engagement with Gustavus during the Sesquicentennial year while planning ways to sustain the engagement past 2012.

from Sesquicentennial Website

Sesquicentennial Year Archives Projects, 2011-2012

·         Gustavus Adolphus College Images

o   Added 506 images since May

·         Gustavus Audio Recordings

o   6 audio recordings of GAC history since the 1940s

·         Manuscript Collections

o   Materials from collections dealing with the Civil War and World War II along with the life and death of Camilla Hall

·         Gustavus Adolphus College Publications

o   Publications include a college history and select Griblies and Course Catalogs

·         Campus Maps

o   8 maps

·         Gustavus Institutional Repository

o   30 works by Gustavus faculty and staff

·         International Photography Contest

o   278 images taken by students studying abroad since the 1980s

·         Lutheran Church Archives - Publications

o   2 books on local churches

·         Lutheran Church Archives - Images

o   516 images

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License