Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library & Archives Grants: Swedish Council of America Grant

Swedish Council of America

The Swedish Council of America's Grants Program provides funding for projects that promote knowledge and understanding of the Swedish heritage or serve to strengthen contemporary ties between North America and Sweden.

from Swedish Council of America Website

College and Lutheran Church Archives

The College and Lutheran Church Archives makes available for use and study significant historical materials documenting Gustavus Adolphus College and the Lutheran Church in America.

The Archives houses materials in three main areas: Gustavus Adolphus College Archives (GACA), College Archives Manuscript Collections (CAMC), and Lutheran Church Archives (LCA).

The GACA division holds materials documenting the college's administrative, academic, and support departments along with materials on athletics and student organizations.

Materials in the CAMC document people and organizations affiliated with Gustavus. This includes groups and alumni along with former members of the faculty, administration, and staff.

The Lutheran Church Archives consist primarily of administrative records of Minnesota affiliates of the Lutheran Church in America (LCA). Predecessor and supporting synods have included the Minnesota Conference and Synod, the Red River Valley Conference and Synod, and the English Evangelical Lutheran Synod of the Northwest. In addition, there are congregational histories, biographical files regarding clergy and church leaders, and microfilmed church records (ending about 1930).

from College and Lutheran Church Archives Website

Scandinavian-American Record Digitization

In Fall 2012 the College and Lutheran Church Archives received a grant from the Swedish Council of America to digitize Scandinavian-American 78 rpm records from the early 1900s through the mid-1930s. 75 discs (150 audio tracks) of Scandinavian-American spoken and musical humor were digitized, and the recordings were remastered to remove static and background noise and amplify volume to provide improved listening quality.

Publicity efforts included sharing the grant's impact in both campus publications and the Twin Cities Archives Round Table (TCART)'s newsletter. After the completion of humorous recordings, the Archives will continue to digitize Scandinavian-American popular and sacred music records.

Record Player

Artists

Annersa, Anners

Beck, William

Bergstrom, Oscar

Bondeson, Bertil

Borgen, Sigvart

Carlsten, Fred

Claeson, Jean

Erhardt, Sophus

Fonandern, Gustav

Hogrebe, Albert

Hulten, Hugo

Jane, Muhoksen

Jensen, Skuespiller Holst

Jonson, Svan

Julinder, Wilhelm

Karlsson, Ake

Kauppi, Leo

Klausen, Henry

Larsen, Sverre

Lauritzen, Marryat

Leman, Bert

Lindstrom, Carl

Lund, Jorgen

Mossberg, Joel

Namndeman, Kalle

Odeon Ensemble

Olson, Eleonora

Olson, Ethel

Ostby, Adolf (Ostbye)

Persson, Edvard

Prince’s Band

Sjokvist, Calle

Stenberg, Birger

Sterling, Robert

Suonio, Kirsti

Svenson, August

Weissman, Th.

Wennerberg

Widden, Charles G.

Wilhelm, Prins

Woll, Carsten

Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License