A good place to start research on most any subject. This multi-disciplinary database indexes nearly 8,050 publications and provides full text for nearly 4,600, including more than 3,900 peer-reviewed journals. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Provides the full text of global, regional and local news sources. Coverage ranges from over 40 Minnesota sources to international sources from over 200 countries.
A collection of more than 750,000 citations and abstracts from major publishers in computing. The "advanced search" option is only available to ACM members, but the basic search and browse feature provide search options.
This guide covers topics ranging from scientific communication, to writing in scientific journals, to working with data, to scientific style conventions, to inclusivity in writing.
An archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
Citations and abstracts for agricultural publications from the 15th century to the present, including articles from over 600 periodicals, USDA and state experiment station and extension publications, and selected books. Subjects include animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences. Many records are linked to full-text documents online. A resource of the National Agricultural Library.
Focuses on complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. Offers full text articles for more than 180 international journals and reports. Also includes hundreds of pamphlets, booklets, special reports, original research and book excerpts. Features indexing and abstracts going back as far as 1984, and full text going back as far as 1990. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes hundreds of full-text journals.
This collection consists of FBI reports dealing with various aspects of antiwar work carried out by the VVAW. The collection also includes surveillance on a variety of other antiwar groups and individuals, with an emphasis on student groups and Communist organizations. Covers 1967-1975.
These collections include digitized images of American magazines and journals documenting the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Includes content published between 1684 and 1912. Access to collections 1-5 is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Searches ~50 American Chemical Society journals and other publications. Includes full text of ~20 journals and token access to additional journals. WAIT! Before you search, read the guidelines about expending ACS tokens.
These FBI files provide detailed information on the evolution of AIM as an organization of social protest and the development of Native American radicalism. Covers 1968-1979.
This collection brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons over the past 200 years. When complete, the collection will contain newspapers from prisons in every state, representing a variety of penal institutions, including women-only institutions.
Search a collection of U.S. and international family history documents online. Includes images of original documents, narratives, oral histories, and indexes to other sources. The record collections span the 1500s to the 2000s. Note: this subscription allows for 5 simultaneous users in the library building only.
Annual index of scholarly publications relating to the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome (500 BCE to 800 CE). The most complete index available for classics, this resource includes over 375,000 citations to articles, books, book reviews, conference proceedings, and essays on all aspects of Greek and Latin cultures, including literature, language, art, archaeology, philosophy, and religion. International in scope, it indexes works in all languages. NOTE: Access is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
A yearly round-up of research on important and timely topics in the field, examining the development of ideas surrounding specific aspects of the field. A recent volume, for example, includes essays on children, childhoods, and violence, Australian languages, developmental biology and human evolution, and gender and inequality in the global labor force. Earlier volumes are included in JSTOR.
Offers in-depth literature reviews of research on topics in biochemistry.
Offers reviews of research in important areas of the field.
The Annual Review of Political Science contains critical reviews of the most significant primary research literature in the field of political science. The volume provides a useful and intelligent synthesis of the primary research literature in the discipline every year. Online access allows all volumes to be searched simultaneously.
Offers review articles on topics in the field. These sort out the published research on a topic, discuss it, and provide references. A good overview of what's going on in the field for the topics covered.
Annual volume of review essays that examine an issue in depth and provide a review of relevant research.
Annual Review articles summarize the current understanding and significance of a topic, set it in historical context, and highlight major questions for future research. Gustavus subscribes to the full text (usually 1998-present) of 14 Annual Review titles: Annual Review of Anthropology; Biochemistry; Cell & Developmental Biology; Earth & Planetary Sciences; Ecology, Evolution & Systematics; Entomology; Genetics; Genomics & Human Genetics; Immunology; Neuroscience; Physical Chemistry; Political Science; Psychology; and Sociology.
Full-text archive of 32 scholarly journals published by the American Anthropological Association, most dating back to the first issue and about half continuing to the present. Covers physical anthropology, cultural or social anthropology, linguistic anthropology, and archaeology.
Search and browse journals published by the American Physical Society.
Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections -- from historical documents, to personal papers, to family histories. Researchers can contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and in some cases, order copies.
An archive focused on U.S. Hispanic history, literature, and culture from colonial times until 1960. Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English. Includes historical articles, complete texts of historical books of Hispanic literature and culture, plus hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
An archive of rare manuscripts, newspapers and books by Latino-Hispanic Americans. Features manuscript collections of both individuals and organizations. Presents books and newspapers in their original form. Content is written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).
Index of articles from the contents pages of journals. Describes one article, news story, letter, or other item from a journal in each record. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
Multidisciplinary index covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Fully covers over 2,300 arts and humanities journals, and also includes some individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Some of the disciplines covered include archaeology, linguistics, art, literature, music, philosophy, dance, history, religion and theater.
Artstor is JSTOR’s cross-disciplinary collection of over 2 million rights-cleared images from around the world. Starting August 2024, Artstor images are discoverable alongside JSTOR’s journals, books, and other primary sources on one platform.
The premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Includes more than 600 full text journals. Note: To access the full text of book chapters (essays) that appear in your search results, you may also want to check the book catalog to see if we have the book in print.
This work is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4.0
