LibGuides: Database Descriptions A to Z: S

S

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 This link opens in a new window
Makes available online works captured from Joseph Sabin's bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time. Contains information about North, Central and South America, the Arctic and Antarctica and the West Indies. Offers original accounts of exploration, pioneering, settlement, the western movement, military actions, Native Americans, slavery and abolition. Provides access to 33,000 titles, with over 8 million pages of text.
Sage Premier This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 500 scholarly journals published by SAGE in a range of disciplines, including many social sciences titles. Includes current full text for over 30 journals and back issues for hundreds of journals. Many journals include full backfiles - back to 1960s or earlier. To search articles by discipline, click "Browse" > "Journals by discipline."
Science Citation Index Expanded (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Search citations from scientific disciplines, including agriculture, astronomy, biology, chemistry, computer science, mathematics, medicine, pharmacology, physics, plant sciences, psychiatry, and zoology. Covers 8,300 major journals.
Science Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, and journals. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Access is provided by eLibraryMN (ELM).
SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
We now have access to a new-and-improved interface, SciFinder-n. If you are already a SciFinder user, you can access it with your existing username and password. If you are a new to SciFinder, see the instructions below for creating your account.

Get Started with SciFinder-n: Create Your Account
Before you access SciFinder-n from the web for the first time, you must create your own SciFinder-n username and password from on campus. To begin the user registration process, go to the User Registration Page from on campus. For more information, see the SciFinder User Registration Guide (PDF file). After you have gone through the user registration process, use your SciFinder-n username and password to log in from on campus or remotely.

About SciFinder-n
In addition to the reference, substance, reaction and supplier content found in the original SciFinder, SciFinder-n includes relevance-ranked results, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, biosequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. To find full text of articles or to request them from other libraries, click on "link to other sources." You may need to enable popups on your browser for this window to open.
Scitation (AIP Physics Journals) This link opens in a new window
Access to the tables of contents of journals published by the American Institute of Physics plus other sci-tech publishers. The Gustavus community can access the full text of selected publications, including the Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) and Reviews of Modern Physics. See PROLA to connect directly to the Physical Review Online Archive.
Slavery and Anti-Slavery Part 1 : Debates over Slavery and Abolition This link opens in a new window
Includes collections from the United States and Europe on the worldwide movement for the abolition of slavery in the eighteenth and nineteenth century. Contains 1.5 million cross-searchable pages, including over 7,000 books, 79 serials, 16 manuscript collections and 377 Supreme Court records and briefs.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This link opens in a new window
The collection covers state and federal statutes, judicial cases, and pamphlets and books about slavery.
Social Science Research Network This link opens in a new window
Search hundreds of thousands of abstracts and conference papers through SSRN, an open access repository. Since the platform was acquired by Elsevier in 2016, some scholars have opted to put their research into a new non-profit repository SocArXiv, still under development.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Knowledge) This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary citation index covering the journal literature of the social sciences, including anthropology, history, law, linguistics, philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, political science, public health, social work, sociology, urban studies, and women's studies. Indexes 2,697 journals across social science disciplines, as well as selected items from 3,500 of the world's leading scientific and technical journals.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of sport and fitness. Contains bibliographic references to international practical and research literature in sport, physical fitness, active living, and physical education. Contains over 650,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800. Provides full text for more than 440 journals. NOTE: Access is limited to four simultaneous users.
Springer All America's Package This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 1,500 titles in full text, from 1997-present.
Student Activism This link opens in a new window
Student Activism is a primary source collection of material related to student activism in the 20th and early 21st century. It includes fliers, newsletters, event documentation, and more. When complete, the collection will contain over 75,000 pages of documents.