Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Prayers / Liturgy
Liturgy & prayer during synagogue observances are central to understanding and practicing the Jewish belief system. A few of their most prominent liturgical and prayer practices are highlighted within this section.
Jewish Liturgy by
Call Number: BM660 .L36 2015
Publication Date: 2015-03-06
"Jewish Liturgy: A Guide to Research enables the reader to access intelligently the rich bibliography now available in English. In this volume, Ruth Langer, an expert on Jewish liturgy, provides an annotated discussion of the most important books and articles, on topics ranging historically from the liturgy of the Second Temple period and the Dead Sea Scrolls to today, addressing the synagogue itself, its daily, weekly, and festival liturgies and their components, home rituals and the life cycle, as well as questions of liturgical performance and theology. Introductions to every section orient the reader and provide necessary background." - from the publisher
Jewish Liturgy: a comprehensive history by
Call Number: BM660 .E513 1993
Publication Date: 1993-01-15
"The Jewish prayer book, the siddur, is the longest continuous record of the history, philosophy, literature, and ethos of the Jewish people. It has been read and reread in every generation, in every Jewish community. Now, for the first time, Ismar Elbogen's Jewish Liturgy: A Comprehensive History, the most complete scholarly study of Jewish liturgy in existence today, is available to the English-speaking community. Originally published in German, the work was reissued in.An updated Hebrew version in 1972. It has now been masterfully translated from the German and the Hebrew by Raymond P. Scheindlin. Elbogen's analysis covers the entire range of Jewish liturgical development - beginning with the early cornerstones of the siddur, such as the Amidah, the Shema, and Ashrei, through the evolution of the medieval piyyut tradition, to modern prayerbook reform in Germany and the United States. The book traces the origins of present-day prayers,Noting the many variants that arose within historical periods and different geographic communities. Elbogen includes generous citations from primary sources such as rabbinic texts, comparative historical documents, medieval commentators, and modern scholarship. The work is complemented by a study of the history of the synagogue as an institution; its functionaries, architecture, and music. Also included are full bibliographies and several useful indexes, among them an.Index of prayers in Hebrew and English. Elbogen's studies will prove invaluable to Jewish scholars because of the presentation of primary sources and variants, to interested laypersons because of his comprehensive overview and systematic format, and to Christian scholars because of his attention to parallel developments in Christian liturgy. Eighty years after its first appearance, Elbogen's magisterial work remains the most thorough academic study of the Jewish liturgy.Ever written. It is a monument to the historical and philological approach that characterized Jewish studies - and humanistic studies generally - in the second half of the nineteenth century." - from the publisher
Undercurrents of Jewish Prayer by
Call Number: BM670.M67 S36 2008
Publication Date: 2007-10-25
"Traditional Jews encounter the prayer-book - the Siddur - more often in their daily lives than any other text, yet it is mysteriously absent from their otherwise nearly comprehensive curriculum of study. In addition, they tend to recite it mantrically, more for its sound than its meaning. The neglect of meaning is so complete that no edition of the prayer-book has yet appeared with a comprehensive range of commentaries. The present work, the first to examine this paradox, explains it as a reluctance to engage with the intellectual and emotional questions that lie just beneath the surface of the text.
An analysis of the opening sequences of the daily ritual reveals that the prayer-book, far from representing one side of a deferential dialogue with an attentive deity, actually challenges God to allow access to the revelation on which human safety depends and to keep his side of the covenant. Confronting the chaotic unpredictability of the human condition, this undercurrent of protest allows Jews to question why God's urgently needed intervention seems absent. Anger at this apparent absence is qualified only by gratitude at being alive.
The core of this book consists of a novel examination of the opening sections of the traditional daily morning liturgy according to the Ashkenazi rite. The analysis is based on mostly untranslated medieval and later commentaries identifying the biblical and rabbinic echoes from which the liturgy is woven, and employs analytical methods of the kind traditionally applied to talmudic and midrashic texts. It shows how each citation and echo imports aspects of its original context into the new composition, forming a countertext to the words on the page. It examines each textual layer, as well as the surface meaning that is usually the only one to be noted, and relates these to the speaker's actual location-home and later the synagogue-as well as to the time of day when the prayers are recited, as the worshipper faces the dangers of the day ahead. The resulting chorus of ideas-linking everyday life to the sacred narrative from creation to exile-demonstrates the philosophical sophistication of rabbinic spirituality in offering poetic insight into an ultimately tragic vision of reality." - from the publisher
Ancient Jewish Prayers and Emotions by
Publication Date: 2015-11-13
"This collection of essays offers an analysis of central texts in Greek, Hebrew and Aramaic relating to emotions within literary prayers. Their discussions touch upon such diverse topics as relations with God, exegesis, education, prophecy, linguistic expression, feminism, happiness, grief, cult, suicide, non-Jews, Hellenism, Qumran and Jerusalem. The articles contribute to a scientific understanding of early Rabbinic and Christian ideas." - from the publisher
My People's Prayer Book Vol 1: The Sh'ma and its Blessings by
Call Number: BM674.39 .M96 1997 v.1
Publication Date: 1997-11-01
"My People's Prayer Book provides diverse and exciting commentaries to the traditional liturgy, written by some of today's most respected scholars and teachers from all perspectives of the Jewish world. They explore the text from the perspectives of ancient Rabbis and modern theologians, as well as feminist, halakhic, medieval, linguistic, biblical, Chasidic, mystical, and historical perspectives. This stunning work, an empowering entryway to the spiritual revival of our times, enables all of us to claim our connection to the heritage of the traditional Jewish prayer book. It helps rejuvenate Jewish worship in today's world, and makes its power accessible to all. The My People's Prayer Book series belongs on the library shelf of every home, every synagogue—every sanctuary of prayer. Introductions tell the reader what to look for in the prayer service, as well as how to truly use the commentaries, to search for—and find—meaning in the prayer book." - from the publisher
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported License